top of page
Search

The reality of finding a work placement in a pandemic

Updated: Dec 2, 2020

Hi, how are you? I hope you are keeping well in this second lockdown, only one more week left! My past few weeks have been filled with applying to various PR agencies in search of a placement to undertake in summer of next year. I know that experience is an essential step to success and makes you stand out to employers as it shows that you have a knowledge of the industry. However, more now than ever it is becoming harder and harder to find a placement.


Last summer I had an amazing opportunity lined up to undertake a two week placement at the external communications department of the London Ambulance Service. I was excited to learn about what day to day life is like in this industry, and more importantly putting my skills to practice. Unfortunately due to Covid-19 this was not able to go ahead. I thought I could put it on hold until this summer and bring more knowledge into my placement.


However, 6 months later and Covid-19 is still a huge issue. I have found that no agencies I have asked about work placements are able to promise anything, which whilst completely understandable is very frustrating. Instead I have turned to look into virtual and voluntary placement options. I know these will give me a good level of experience I am still desperate to complete a physical placement. Whilst this may have to wait until next year, I am still remaining hopeful and excited.


If anyone reading this has any advice, or contacts where I can apply for a Public Relations work placement I would be very appreciative. Have any of you struggled to find a placement? If so how did you overcome this hurdle?

44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page