top of page
Search

My journey with blogging

Somehow, I have two weeks left of university, and my journey with blogging is coming to an end for now. If I am honest, at the start of this academic year when my lecturer told me to begin blogging, I wasn’t sure where to start and how on earth I would think of a new topic each week. However, seven months later here we are! I thought for my final blog post I would tell you all about how blogging has helped me this year.


Firstly, I found blogging a huge help to understand topics I had learnt about at university. Before Christmas I was studying ethics and found writing blog posts on certain ethical issues an interesting way to learn about different academic theories, understand them further and know how to apply them. For example, I wrote a blog post about filters and photoshop on social media, which ended up inspiring an assignment I completed on the same topic.


Secondly, I have found blogging to be helpful to get my thoughts out of my head and on to a page. Many times, over this past year I have used these blog posts to complete tasks which I needed to do outside of university. For example, when preparing for job interviews, I anticipated that I would be asked about a current PR campaign I like, and so I wrote a blog post about it. In the interview, I was prepared with a cohesive answer due to having formed my thoughts prior through my blog post. Furthermore, writing blog posts has been nice as it provides a break from academic work. A prime example is today. I need to work on my dissertation but by starting my day by writing a blog I am focused and therefore I can work uninterrupted and hopefully complete the work which I need to do today.


Above all, blogging has forced me to stand on my own feet and develop my own thoughts about critical issues. As I stand on the brink of my career, this skill of independent thinking is something which I am sure will be useful. It has already been massively helpful in my university assignments, as I have been able to critically analyse theory in relation to my chosen topics to add a new dimension.


As hard as it has been at times to motivate myself to sit down and write a blog post, I always feel like I have achieved something at the end of it. Furthermore, the Creator Awards has been a huge help in motivation to keep going with my degree. Seeing my posts featured each week shows me that I am capable. Moreover, I have loved reading all the other blogs featured in this competition; it’s been great to see everyone’s opinions on the topics they choose to write about. I hope you have enjoyed reading my blogs this year!

34 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page