top of page
Search

How I cope with stress at University

Since coming back to university for my final semester after Christmas, I am definitely more stressed than before. With pressure mounting for my dissertation, two full on modules, commitments outside of University and a University wide event on my plate I thought I would talk about how I have coped with the pressure.


Firstly, the best way I have found for me to get frustration and stress out my system is by going to the gym and lifting some heavy weights. Every morning, I get up and walk 10 minutes to my local Pure Gym and spend an hour working out. When I leave to walk home, I feel refreshed and ready to start my day. After doing this, I find I am much more motivated to get some work done as I can focus more clearly. When I’m not in the gym, I try to get a walk in at least once a day. Even a 10-minute walk into university or to the shops clears my mind. I listen to podcasts to take my mind off the things which are stressful and find that it really helps.




Secondly, I have started reading more books. Every night before I go to sleep, I turn my phone off for an hour and read. Some of my favourite books I’ve read recently are: Where the Crawdads Sing, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and A Thousand Splendid Suns. If you want to get into reading, I recommend picking up any of the books I’ve mentioned and giving them a go.


Thirdly, I have set a 45-minute timer for all social media apps on my phone. I have become conscious of how much time I have been spending on social media recently and really want to cut it down. Whilst I think I need to be up to date in celebrity culture and trends on social media for my degree, I don’t need to spend hours scrolling through TikTok. I really like how connected social media has made us; however, I don’t like how much my life revolves around it. Instead of scrolling I listen to the radio or go and talk to my friends.


Lastly, I have been trying to spend more time outside the house. During the week, this involves only working one day at home. The other days I go to a coffee shop or come into the library. On the weekends, I try to plan to do at least one social thing. For example, on Saturday myself and 5 friends went to watch Southampton play Coventry at St Marys and then went to an Irish bar on the way home. It was such a fun day and allowed me to relax a little bit.


If you are struggling with your workload, I really recommend just making a simple swap to incorporate one of these things into your life. They have really helped me. Alternatively, if you are feeling low and need to talk to someone you can contact CALM on 0800585858 between the hours of 5pm-Midnight to speak to someone and get things off your chest.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page